March Birthdays


I don’t have too much to write about this week.  I’ve been sick with an awful cold and cough, which I tried, unsuccessfully, to hide from my date on Saturday.  I’ve missed 2 weeks of volunteering and have been staying in a lot.

Hmm, wait, I did host a dinner party for my son’s 29th birthday on March 2, all while I was just getting this stupid cold.  A turkey, a ham and 10 of my favourite people squashed in my tiny apartment.

The highlight at the beginning (it was like I planned it!) was the fuzz (cops to you young ‘uns) who arrived at the front door of the apartment block just as I was going to let my sister into the building. Now, you know they weren’t looking for me.  A neighbour called them the fuzzfor their own problems in their own suite.  As they tried to figure out exactly which suite they were looking for, my sister came barreling down the hall, very excited and half blind from her fogged up glasses and shouting, “Hey Marie!  I have your pot!”  Of course she was talking about cookware.  Of course she was!  I was gesturing to said pot to the nice policemen who were now looking at me with a little more interest than they were before.

Cop 1:  I think she’s really a drug dealer and only looks like a Sunday School teacher…

Cop 2:  I say we frisk her…

By the time my son arrived, he saw a man getting the cuffs slapped on him in the hallway (well, the arrest was pretty quiet, no ruckus, no fuss) and he was just a little bit rattled by the sight as he came in with his Mohawk and punk rock outfit he bedazzled himself.  Okay, it’s not cool to say bedazzled; he studded and patched the jacket to perfection.

Now that all the players were there, it was time to get the supper on the table.  I was carving the turkey until my sister took over so I could make gravy. It seemed every time I started something she was there to take over and move me on to anther task.  I cut up the ham and realized just how much I miss my electric knife.  My sister mashed the potatoes with butter and milk (I was out of cream cheese and really wished I had my mixer too); corn was cooked just right and Carly made a perfect Caesar Salad as she always does.  It seemed like a real flurry of activity in my teeny tiny kitchen but organized, very hot and smelling awesome.

The turkey was done just divine although the stuffing was too moist.  Too bad the ham didn’t have the flavour I wanted.  I was going for a sweeter taste than it turkeydinnerhad.  I did use a cup and a half of brown sugar and only 1/2 cup of pineapple juice. Forget the juice next time I think.  The gravy was amazing.  Everyone appreciated having turkey at this time of year.  We all think it’s too long to wait for it again in the fall.

It must have been good enough because everyone ate and ate then ate the ice cream cake that followed.  It all worked out so great! I can’t believe I pulled it off.  Both my kids were impressed.

Anyway, the weather is finally warmer and the streets are either messy or icy so going outside means I always expect the unexpected.  Hopefully this virus or whatever it is will be a thing of the past and I can get back to a routine outside of the apartment.

Oh and now it’s time to plan Carly’s birthday.  Both kids born in March.  What was it about those July long weekends?

3 responses to “March Birthdays

  1. Howdy Marie! Thanks so much for following me! I tried to search for you and my other buddies from my new blog so I could follow all of you, but none of you would come up!

    You sound like you’re doing well! That meal you made for your son looks way too good!!! I’ve been working to lose weight in order to get healthier. I was bordering on diabetes. 😦 The thought of all of the delicious fixings that go along with a turkey dinner just kills me–that’s my favorite meal!

    Take care! I’m going to read some of your posts! 🙂

    • Welcome back! I missed you! I’m going to sit down this weekend and catch up on your blog too. The picture of the turkey dinner wasn’t my turkey dinner so you would be eating the paper it was printed on. lol I know what you mean. I love turkey too!

      • That makes me feel just a little bit better–paper tastes bad! 🙂 I’m just glad I didn’t begin my weight loss program at Thanksgiving!

        I still have more catching up to do on your blog, too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

