Beachy Birthday (52 and counting)


Oh, what a great 4 days I had!  I spent them at the beach, staying with my sister and her family at  her cottage.  My daughter was able to get the time off work and, besides, it was my birthday.

The beach has always been a magical and relaxing place for me. It is my most favourite place in the world.  I’ve spent every summer or many summer weekends there all my life. My mother seems to be in every room and coffee cup.  I sleep in her room surrounded by her things and some of her paintings.  I was always safe there.  The Beach has always had its own smells and winds and sounds.  I always feel different and really like that.  This was the first time I was able to go this summer so there was no taking anything for granted.

I love the sun on my skin and the sand in my toes.

The beach is also a place where there is lots of food and cousins and love and being very busy or reading books.  Laughing is the norm around there.  Trips for ice cream  and there’s never-ending fruit and veggies for my girl.  My sister and her family are very generous and we wanted for nothing.

Even the day it rained we filled the hours with henna tattoos, reading and solitaire with only 48 cards in the deck. The sun came out again though. It always does.

henna

I met my great-nephew who is 2 years old for the first time. Remarkable little guy. Doesn’t say much but came right up to me and gave me a hug. The beauty and maturity of my niece just glowed and filled the room. I could see what a great mom she is because she made me laugh how relaxed she was. I don’t think I ever had it that together.

The last day I was there it was so hot, the water was barely refreshing.  We stuck our beach chairs in the lake and parked it for an hour watching my almost-one-year-old granddaughter, a new generation, love the beach too.  We formed a circle around her, almost protective. She loved it and you could see she loved us all.   Anyone watching would know this was a close family with a lot of love for each other.

Just what I wanted.  Just what I needed.

We had my birthday party the last day too.  With my kids, nieces and nephews there are so many young people in my life.  There are not many my own age except for my sister, her husband and one of their dogs (in dog years).  I was honoured, though, that they took the time to come and eat hot dogs, hamburgers and veggie things from the barbecue.  I even got presents!

birthday card

From my lovely daughter.

This is the most joyful I have felt in many years.  I felt I had to write about it so I can look back on it and know there are times like this.

10 responses to “Beachy Birthday (52 and counting)

  1. That’s beautiful Marie ❀

  2. I am thrilled to pieces to read this. You deserve many more days, just like this. Happy belated birthday, Marie!

  3. Oh Marie! I am so happy for you. I had a huge smile on my face the whole time reading as, like you, I grew up gooing to many cottags, the lake … A place I feel most at home.

    Happy birthday!

  4. So happy you had a wonderful birthday filled with all the best presents in your life πŸ™‚ I have many memories of happy family times with your family at the beach. You are passing these wonderful family times on to your granddaughter and all the other young ones <3, so special to still feel all that love.

  5. Hi Marie! Happy belated birthday to you!! I sounds like you had a magnificent time with lots of good company. The beach is my very favorite place, too! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

