Pills


Ha!  The title fooled you.  This is NOT about my meds.  This is about whether I would want to stay in a made up world forever and never know the difference or would I choose the opposite; wake up in my bed and find an excuse for what just went down.

Yes.  Blue Pill.  Red Pill.  Made famous on the Matrix but the concept has been around for decades.

This is what was presented to me courtesy of Word Press Daily Post:

If given the choice, are you the kind of person who takes the red pill, or the blue pill? Why? When do you willfully do the opposite?

“You take the blue pill – the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill – you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit-hole goes.” -Morpheus (from the film The Matrix)

Background on the red pill vs. blue pill here.

So what would you do?  I would argue that I would need more information before I could make a decision like that.  I think it would depend upon so much.  How do I know my choice won’t bring me a worse situation than I was already in?  Could things get any better or any worse?

So in reality there is no red or blue pill.  To take a pill to change my reality?  I won’t even go there.  There are choices though.  All the time.  Why I make some of the ones I do baffles me sometimes.  Baffles my sister too.  Not about her choices but about mine.  I go around and learn, around some more, learn some more but it seems to never end.

Some pretty bad crap happened to me and Carly in the past year, mostly due to the cruelties and thoughtlessness of other people we used to trust.  I really thought we were not going to make it and, for the first time in my life, I was scraping.  Not even scraping by.  This close to living in my car  and I would have if I didn’t have Carly.  This close to totally losing it all.  And myself.

I had a couple of things that were positive and worked on making them work for me.  I had my amazing daughter and grown son, I had my amazing sister Colleen, a very lovely fella, my gift of writing and my gift of honesty and common sense.  Hmm, more than a couple.

Without those things I never would have taken the blue pill.  That’s what I think happened.  If I took the red pill would I have still been trapped inside of that unfriendly world?  I didn’t care to explore it any further, thank you very much.

So I took the blue pill and woke up one morning and things were better.  My wishing on trains helped too.  My dear people/things are still dear to me and my talents brought me respect and time.  I was able to discover gifts I never knew I had and how to use them.  Well, and not being afraid to use them.

Worthwhile getting here but OUCH when you hit your head on the rabbit hole.

6 responses to “Pills

  1. Thank God you took the blue pill! We’d be missing one very gifted lady had she taken a trip down the rabbit hole 🙂 I think I’m inclined to take the blue pill, too. Reality is real, even the hard bits, but knowing your life is true has to be worth it!

    • Thank you Tori, that’s mighty nice of you to say. I think most people would take the blue pill too. I learned hard lessons this year and I think they were all good ones. Thank you so much for commenting and reading and writing your own blog. I get a big kick out of it!

  2. I’m a blue pill kinda girl, too Marie! As much as they suck, those tough times bring us wisdom. 🙂 Great post!

    • I believe you Sprinkles! It’s funny; someone on Face book said, when I asked which pill would you take, he said both! I can’t even begin to imagine what the heck that would mean. Love your comments always miss sprink! xoxo

  3. Blue BLUE BLUE!! Change may sometimes suck but in the end you either learn from it or you don’t… BLUE all the way cause I know even tho i do know alot I don’t know everything and if given to the chance to learn something i’ll take it … even if it may hurt in the end.

Leave a Reply

