Describe the Sound of your Laugh


This is one of the latest topics I’ve subscribed to for blogging material.  I simply can’t resist it.

My laugh seems to quickly evolve around people I see a lot of.  A few years ago, I had a very high-pitched cackle that annoyed everyone, even me.  That was because I spent a lot of time with my then sister-in-law, who had the laugh of epic proportions.  It would drown out the sound in a movie theater so the family took to watching movies in the privacy of our homes.  Imagine the TWO of us laughing until everyone, including the donors, have splitting headaches.  Needless to say, we didn’t watch a lot of comedies.  When you see me, get me to show you.  You will not be disappointed.

I have traits from my younger sister, who snorts when she laughs.  When I really get going, I snort.  Then it usually ends up going the wrong way and I spew.  Ew, I know.  We had to stop going to movies together for a while.  I would almost dread what could happen.  She would see something on-screen that struck her funny, like, say, a guy getting hit in the head with a tennis ball, and she would start, I would follow then we would both be on the floor laughing so hard among the stale popcorn and Nerds.  After one movie with Kevin Kline (tennis ball struckus in the headum), I was picking gum out of my hair for 2 days.  We were only embarrassing ourselves and our dates.  One of the dates did marry her in spite of it all.  None of mine never did. 

Here’s hoping I will emulate my co-worker’s laugh.  I like it.  It’s a very strong laugh; a good HA HA kind of laugh with a bit of mischief in it.  Loud but not too loud; you know she means it.  Not like a former co-worker’s laugh I picked up years ago.  Hers was a hyena, a real loud, breathy hyena.  It would be localized in the nose and sinuses.   Remember Felix Unger on the TV show, The Odd Couple?  When he was clearing his sinuses?  That was it, pretty close.  I couldn’t wait for her to find another job and that was the only reason.  She was beautiful and very nice but her laugh became a part of me.  It was embarrassing.  I couldn’t go to restaurants because I would embarrass whoever I was with.  I went anyway but still.  I don’t look like the kind of person who stays away from restaurants.

I don’t really know what my laugh is like today.  Maybe a little loud: A HEE HEE HEE HEE.  Not delicate, that will never be me.  When I laugh now, I still snort and after a while, if it’s a truly hilarious moment, it gets very quiet; it has gone internal.  That just hurts my stomach and it’s hard to breathe.  My nose gets snotty and my eyes tear up.  I love to laugh like that as long as I have a tissue handy.  So I think I need more good belly laughs.  Oh and I should be near a bathroom too.  Just in case.

How about your laugh?  Everyone’s is so different.  Mine is different every other year.  Leave me a note and let me know how you sound.  Are you a snorter, a cackler, a little tee-hee-hee-r?

One response to “Describe the Sound of your Laugh

  1. Pingback: Looking Back, Pushing Forward | MARIE's space

Leave a Reply

