What My Home Says About Me


This one is easy. I don't really have a home. I have been borrowing homes for the last year with this last one I have my daughter with me. Funny thing is this current address is my birth home. I lived in it until 1980 when I moved out to be on my own in my very own apartment. My parents have kept the old homestead since even after my mom died almost 4 years ago and my dad is now in a nursing home.

I had been on medical leave from my job for the past 2 years. I left my common-law partner of 19 years in March 2010. I moved in with my son, leaving my daughter behind. This was the hardest thing I ever had to do in my life. September came and I was offered this house for minimal rent. I jumped at it of course, gathering up my meager belongings and my wonderful daughter, who cried when I told her we were getting a home together at last. We were both so happy. She is 13 and had to stay with me in my room the first couple of nights. We eventually snagged her kitty from her dads house too.

Then, I found a job. Its only part time and I love it. Not nearly enough to live on in the regular world. We havent been able to add much of our personality to the house. So I like to think that it is warm and inviting, colourful and cozy. It smells good most of the time and there are definitely bad hair days happening. Very bright in the daytime and kinda sleepy at night. Happy feet abound with music to soothe the soul (if you can count Justin B.). The neighbors are supportive and always willing to lend a hand. There is a feeling of companionship and love seeping from the walls.

Definitely love in my house. I will bring that to the next one which I hope will be my own.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

